Au om kui sau, jummal anna' õnnõ.

Union of Setomaa

The non-profit organization Setomaa Liit (until 2018 Setomaa Valdade Liit - Union of Setomaa Rural Municipalities), was established in 1994 by four municipal governments Meremäe municipality, Mikitamäe municipality, Misso municipality and Värska municipality. Since 2018 members of Setomaa Liit are Setomaa municipality and NGO Seto Kongressi Tugiühing. 

The primary Setomaa Liit areas of activity are:

  • preserving, promoting and introducing ethnic Seto culture,
  • supporting the Seto region’s social and economic development and improving social well-being,
  • developing educational and entrepreneurial opportunities,
  • representing and protecting the common interests of the Seto region’s inhabitants in all walks of life and developing cooperation in this area.

To achieve these goals, Setomaa Liit organizes events and trainings, commissions research and analysis, coordinates cooperation between organizations and municipalities in the Seto region, participates as a partner in many local and international projects.

The supreme body of the Setomaa Liit is the general meeting, made up by members. In the interim period between general meetings, the supervisory board steers the Setomaa Liit. 

The executive body of the Setomaa Liit is a two-member management board. The management board members are Margus Timmo and Aare Hõrn.


Kesktänav 20, Obinitsa 65301, Setomaa municipality, Võru County
Tel +372 5622 2886 (Margus Timmo, chairman of the management board)
Tel +372 5622 2348 (Aare Hõrn, member of the management board)
Tel +372 510 6664 (Kaja Tullus, assistant)